WEEK NINE: THE BIG APPLE

So this week is ending with a four-day trip to NYC. Now, it is probably about my 1000th time to New York City, since I live right outside Philadelphia and it’s an easy hour-long train ride into Penn Station, but I’m still really excited. Why? Well, first of all, I’ll state the obvious by saying it’s a trip and a little change of scenery. I’ll continue by informing you that I’m going with three High Point University Professors and 14 other students to visit Graphic Design firms. Now, to non-Graphic Design majors, maybe it isn’t as cool, but for those of you who are, it’s the coolest. Especially in a major city like New York City. We’re going to five different design firms on Thursday and Friday, including Google (come on, you better know that one!) and Pentagram, which is basically the heaven of Graphic Design, AND we get to meet and talk to Paula Scher, who is a major-super-famous-important Graphic Designer. It’s a big deal and a very rare opportunity, so all of us are really looking forward to it. Saturday and Sunday are free days, where we can do whatever we’d like. I looked up the subway schedules and as someone who knows NYC pretty well, I already know the best and cheapest places to eat! Personally, I’m trying to go to the 911 Memorial and Museum because I heard it’s incredible and very moving. I actually just went to NYC over Spring Break, but I didn’t make it to the 911 Memorial and Museum. It’s also really close to our hotel, since we are staying Downtown, so it’s almost as if the signs are pointing to visit it this weekend. One of the other girls also really wanted to go to the Statue of Liberty since she has never been to NYC, so I told her I would do that with her too. We’re planning on climbing up to the crown! I’ve been before, but it was several years ago, and I don’t mind going again! Overall, it should be a really great trip. I’ll be sure to take plenty of pictures, so check out my website http://www.madeleineromano.com or my Facebook page Madeleine Romano in a few days to see them posted! I might use one for next week’s blog post too!

Leave a comment