WEEK THIRTEEN: EARTH WEEK

As all of you High Point University students already know, this week was Earth Week, in honor of Earth Day. We got fancy new water bottles with appropriate designs, and we also had an awesome Earth Week celebration in Hayworth Park yesterday afternoon! There was a special appearance from Twiggy, the Waterskiing Squirrel- yes, that’s right- which I thought was neat except I wasn’t a fan of how people were getting their picture taken with Twiggy on their head. I’m sorry, but even if the squirrel was doing backflips and speaking Spanish, I still would NOT WANT IT ON MY HEAD, NO WAY IS THAT HAPPENING, EVER! Someone else can hold it and I’ll stand next to it for a picture, but that’s the extent of my love for the squirrel. There were also free T-shirts (pretty much speaking the language of High Point University), and they seemed much better with a creative design on a bright blue shirt, compared to last year’s gray t-shirt with minimum design. Miss Jenny’s Pickles (a local pickle company) also made an appearance and distributed jars of pickles. As someone who knows what they taste like and a lot about the company and it’s Kernersville, NC history, I was happy to see them make an appearance. I only know so much because I worked with the company last year for the Piedmont Business Ethics Award and presented on Miss Jenny’s Pickles. Now, for my favorite, the CORN. Fresh corn on the cob, with any and every seasoning you want, extra butter- fresh, hot, steamy goodness placed in your hand. I love Philadelphia and I am a proud Northerner, but nothing beats Southern corn on the cob. Not to mention, the weather was absolutely beautiful and it was perfect to sit outside in the grass, listen to live music, and enjoy fresh corn on the cob with your friends. Of course, there were other companies and businesses promoting their products, but those were my favorites. Although I did not get to experience for myself, there was also a truck with a single-person lift that raised you up so you could take a picture of campus. If I didn’t come with only enough time to enjoy the corn, I definitely would have participated. This event seemed to be much better and with a much higher attendance than last year and I really hope High Point University can continue to make it better for the future!

Oh, and for anyone that’s counting, we only have 4 class days left, and for anyone else going home on May 6th- 12 DAYS UNTIL SUMMER!

2 thoughts on “WEEK THIRTEEN: EARTH WEEK

  1. I’ve enjoyed your blog this semester! I hope you are making it through the last few busy weeks OK. From your blog, it looks like you are still making time for fun and taking pictures!

    Like

Leave a comment