WEEK FIVE: PRAYING FOR MOTHER NATURE

SNOW. That’s right, it’s 5pm on Monday, February 16th, and right now it’s snowing in High Point, North Carolina. As someone from the North, Philadelphia to be exact, snow isn’t magical or exciting, since it usually makes things very inconvenient, and I chose to go to college in the South to avoid it. I am not a fan of winter by any means. However, today is a little different. You see, I have a class at 7:50 am tomorrow morning, that I would REALLY love to get cancelled, because as a college student, sleep is just that precious. And if my first class is cancelled, it’s guaranteed to be a good rest of the day. How could it get bad after starting on such a good note?! It’s hard enough getting out of bed when it’s still dark out, but add temperatures below freezing? No thank you. Therefore, it would be a blessing from mother nature if we could have just enough snow to get that first class of mine cancelled. Nothing against my teacher or the class, but everything against the time. Tuesdays are long days for me anyway, since I am in class from 7:50 in the morning to 5:10 at night. That extra hour and a half of sleep in the morning would not only benefit me and my classmates, but the teachers of the classes I will attend the rest of the day, since I will be more alert and focused on class instead of wanting to sleep. See what I did there? Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m a pretty good student and I don’t miss class unless it’s necessary, like if I’m really sick. However, I’m not objecting to having it cancelled by circumstances out of my control. And I don’t think anyone else would either. It’s a little more sleep for the teachers, students, and all of those roommates (sorry Kellie!) who might be woken up accidentally while some of us are trying to sneak out of the room for our 7:50 am class.

In high school, we could get 6 inches of snow and only have a two-hour delay of school. But being in the South has worked to my advantage of hating the cold winter months, because with only an inch or two of snow on the ground, class could be cancelled for an entire day. It’s very amusing, I might add, to watch all of the locals panic about a couple inches, or how they will drive, when most of the students at High Point University are from the Northeast, all of whom are used to the snow. For us northerners, snow is more fun than scary to drive in, and we really only don’t like it when it messes up our social life. For the southerners, it seems like they are never prepared. Where do you even buy snow suits or sleds in the south? Do they have any form of winter gloves other than those black gloves that every girl seems to have? It’s amazing how different parts of the country react, when we’re only a few hundred miles apart. Those people from Minnesota who are used to a couple feet are laughing hysterically and making memes at all of you panicking over a couple inches. And you thought I was judging you…

Anyway, fingers crossed that we actually get enough snow (which, let’s be honest, isn’t that much) to have 7:50 classes cancelled tomorrow at the very least. Anyone have success with turning their PJs inside out and putting a spoon under your pillow? This is one of the few times I have actually prayed for snow, so I don’t have much experience trying to get it to happen.

4 thoughts on “WEEK FIVE: PRAYING FOR MOTHER NATURE

  1. I’m from the north as well (Philadelphia too actually) and I completely agree. Although I do love winter, the below freezing temperatures are unnecessary unless they are working in our favor and causing classes to be cancelled. Not only was Tuesday completely cancelled but Wednesday morning as well! I ended up having 6 classes cancelled this week! Definitely not complaining but pretty funny considering how little snow there actually was.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great blog, Maddie! I loved your commentary on the Super Bowl and learning about the Whole Foods Valentine’s promotion at First Friday. I think you know how I feel about the last snow, but my son and I am very excited about the 5-8 inches they are predicting tonight!

    Like

Leave a comment